ActiveDen

Adobe Trademark for Tutorial Websites?

42 posts
  • Bought between 10 and 49 items
  • Exclusive Author
  • Has been a member for 3-4 years
  • Sold between 100 and 1 000 dollars
  • United Kingdom
PhotoshopExtra says

adobetutorialz.com, photoshoptutorials.com are all popular Adobe trademark related sites. Adobe does not sue them for breach of trademark on the following reasons:

1) Adobe doesn’t know they exist 2) Should Adobe sue them this will make them look bad and damages their reputation 3) Most important of all: These sites help build a community using their products, encourages to use their products and teaches users how to use and produce quality work whilst using their software product making Adobe a leading software development company that everyone wants to use and be associated with.

To be honest I wouldn’t fear to have a domain name or site with an Adobe trademark, the chances of you getting sued are rare (but not none). There are so many Adobe trademark related sites out there that are hugely popular and have never been sued. Remember Adobe wants people to use their software so these sites actually help promote their products and build a community that sponsor their software. Adobe wouldn’t go out their way to sue you as it makes them look bad and the time and expense is not worthwhile.

You may want to try and contact those site owners like adobetutorialz.com, photoshoptutorials.com etc to ask for their advice and view.

When you contacted Adobe directly no one from the operations team or support team can answer that question and Adobe definitely wouldn’t agree to allowing you to use their trademark either incase it directly damages their brand. But if you are inclined to produce a quality, helpful site in promoting Adobe’s product there will be no reason for them to do so.

So go ahead and make a smashing Photoshop tutorial site that everyone loves and raves about.

Oh man that was an AWESOME reply, just what i was looking for.

It didnt make sense to me that there are already plenty of legitimate and quality websites out there with “photoshop” in the domain that offer tutorials and resources, and yet havent been contacted by Adobe about breaching trademark usage etc.

Mostly its to give me reassurance that if i DO spend countless hours branding my website and marketing it, that i wont have to live in fear of Adobe telling me to take it down etc.

Ive tried my best to contact the owners of those sites, but no’one responds, maybe they think im from Adobe or something more sinister i dont know.

Anyway thanks agian for your help.

by
by
by
by
by